T.A.D.S. - A Brief Snapshot

The first play produced under the "T.A.D.S." banner was Bernard Farrell's "I Do Not Like Thee, Doctor Fell" in 1982. This play tells how six people gather in a locked room for Encounter Therapy that promises to probe their lives. They get more than they bargained for when Joe Fell savagely exposes their real social and sexual secrets in this send-up of American group therapy. The play was staged in The Bridge House Hotel.

Skip forward then to 2019 when our most recent production was Martin McDonagh's "The Cripple Of Inishmaan". The play is set on the small Aran Islands community of Inishmaan (Inis Meáin) off the Western Coast of Ireland in 1934, where the inhabitants are excited to learn of a Hollywood film crew's arrival in neighbouring Inishmore (Inis Mór) to make a documentary about life on the islands. This play was performed in the Sacred Heart School.

This is a one-man show written and performed by Donal Courtney. 'God Has No Country' tells the story of Monsignor Hugh O’Flaherty’s war time exploits in Rome. The play focuses on O’Flaherty’s struggles as he and his colleagues set about the task of protecting those in need from the German occupancy of Rome.

In the past year T.A.D.S. has hosted 2 acting workshops facilitated by David Scott and Donal Courtney. In addition we were involved in the supporting two further drama events in the town: "God Has No Country" and "The Man In The Woman's Shoes" .

"The Man In The Woman's Shoes" introduces cobbler Pat Farnon, who wears women’s shoes to ‘break them back in’ after repairing them. We join him on his five mile walk from his wee white cottage to town and back again and get to witness the marvels and characters he meets along the way. (This is a 'Loco and Reckless Productions' presentation of Mikel Murfi in his own play.)

T.A.D.S. hosted 2 acting workshops

TADS Committee
The committee for 2020 is: Chairperson - Pádraig Seery; Secretary - Charlotte Molloy; Treasurer - Peter Kilemade; P.R.O. - Ciara Kinnarney; Vice-Chairperson - Mary Sherwin; Committee - Sonya Cuddy, Laura Molloy, Peter Gibson, Michael Dunne.
© dunville design 2020